Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Real Estate Property values are available online or you may call (785) 628-9400 for assistance.
Use one of two ways to challenge the value of your property: you may appeal the "notice of value" of your property by contacting the County Appraiser's Office by phone or in writing within 30 days from the date of notice for real property and May 15th for personal property, or you may fill out a "payment under protest" form with the County Treasurer at the time you pay your taxes. If you paid all your taxes prior to December 20th then the protest can be made no later than December 20th (unless an escrow or tax service agent pays your property taxes, then no later than January 31st). You cannot appeal using both methods for the same property in the same tax year. So, if you start to appeal your "notice of appeal", be sure that you follow through with the appeal. You will not be allowed to "pay under protest" later. If you are not satisfied with the results of your appeal at the county level, you may take your case to the Kansas Board of Tax Appeals. For more information on appeals, please see the Appeals section of our web page or contact the Appraiser's Office.
(1) Looking at your notice of value, find the assessed value. (2) Multiply the assessed value by your mill levy and then divide by 1,000 to estimate the property tax you owe. You can find your mill levy on last year's tax statement or contact the County Clerk.
If any person, association, company or corporation has in their possession or custody any taxable personal property belonging to others, it shall be their duty to list the property with the appraiser in the name of the owner of the property. KSA 79-303
The County Appraiser may extend the March 15th deadline if the taxpayer submits a request in writing, stating just and adequate reasons for the extension, and is received by the County Appraiser on or before the March 15th due date, April 1st for oil and gas rendition. KSA 79-306
Date Rendition Filed PenaltyFiled on March 16 - April 15 5%Filed on April 16 - May 15 10%Filed on May 16 - June 15 15%Filed on June 16 - July 15 20%Filed on or after July 16 until March 15 of following year 25%Failure to file full and complete statement within one year 50%Fail to file, omitted or under-reported for more than one year 50%
The County Appraiser has the duty of listing and appraising all tangible personal property in the county that is owned by, held, or in the possession of a business. If a taxpayer fails or refuses to file a rendition or, if the rendition filed does not truly represent all the property, the County Appraiser has the duty to investigate, identify, list and value such property in an effort to achieve uniformity and equality (K.S.A. 79-1411(b) and K.S.A. 79-1461). Kansas Statutes
The State Court of Tax Appeals (COTA) has the authority to abate any penalty imposed under this section and order the refund of the abated penalty. In order to appeal a penalty the taxpayer should obtain the proper form from the County Appraiser's Office, complete the form, and submit it to the county. The county would then submit the form to the COTA for consideration. Either party may request that COTA rehear or reconsider its decision if such request is made within 15 days from the date of the COTA decision.You may print a copy of the form by going to www.accesskansas.org/bota and then choose Applications/Instructions/Flow Charts and look for Tax Grievances (TG) Appeals.
(2) Motor vehicles operating over 12,000 pounds, or non-highway motor vehicles, are appraised at market value. The market value is generally obtained using valuation publications prescribed by the state.
(3) Automobiles owned and leased for a period of time not exceeding 28 days by a car rental company have an excise rental tax imposed in lieu of property tax (K.S.A. 79-5117).
(4) Motor vehicles used by, for hire motor carriers over the road to transport persons or property are state-assessed. Contact the Motor Carrier Section of the Kansas Division of Property Valuation for more information regarding property taxes on state assessed motor vehicles at (785) 296-2365. Kansas Statutes
The Appraiser's Office is allowed to prorate the vessel valuation per the date of sale or acquisition, between January 1 and September 1. After September 1st only the sold vessel can be prorated. If a vessel is sold within the first half of January, the full year valuation will go to the purchaser. The owner for the majority of the transaction month will have that month added to his prorated valuation Effective July 1, 2007, due to HB 2044 amending KSA 79-306e), to have the vessel prorated the property owner must notify the Appraiser's Office on or before December 20th of the year of such acquisition or sale. If a property owner sold a watercraft, in order to prorate the tax value, the County Appraiser will need to receive a bill of sale. The legislation defines the vessel as "any watercraft designed to be propelled by machinery, oars, paddles or wind action upon a sail for navigation on the water." As the bill reads, the trailer will not be prorated. It is only the boat and the motor.
Obtain the appropriate paperwork from the Ellis County Clerk's office at 718 Main, or download from ellisco.net under Department/Clerk. Return completed paperwork to the Ellis County Clerk along with a $55.00 fee. Once the County Commissioners have approved the permit, it will be forwarded onto the applicant.
To obtain a Moving Permit to move a building/structure, derrick, etc. on Ellis County roads, pick up the application at the Ellis County Clerk's office at 718 Main or visit ellisco.net under Department/Clerk to download. All utilities that are affected by the move will need to be notified by the mover. Present the permit to the Ellis County Clerk's office along with a $100 fee after meeting the requirements of notification. The County Clerk's office will then forward the request to Ellis County Public Works Road & Bridge Division for approval of the route. They will notify the Ellis County Clerk once they have authorized approval of the route. The Ellis County Clerk will then sign and seal the permit and forward onto the contractor/mover, who may then proceed with the move.
To apply for a passport, you can get the paperwork from the Ellis County Clerk's office at 718 Main, or you may go online to download the proper application @ travel.state.gov. If this is your first-time passport, it must be filed at the Ellis County Clerk's Office or another official passport agency. If you are renewing your passport and are an adult, you file it yourself. Please call the Ellis County Clerk's office for any questions at 785-628-9410.
Our office can test for nitrates and bacteria. We do these tests on Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday for a nominal fee. Further testing can be done at a certified laboratory. To test water, we take a sample from your kitchen sink to ensure that the proper sampling procedures are followed. We also do a well evaluation at the same time.
Applications can be picked up at the Ellis County Emergency Services Building, 1105 E. 22nd St. Hays, KS. Fore more information regarding the application process, please contact the ECFD office at 785-625-1061.
We ask that you notify the Dispatch Center of any controlled burns, 785-625-1011.
To sign up for emergency notifications, please visit the Civic Ready tab at the bottom of the webpage. Or visit; https://ks-elliscounty.regroup.com/signup
The address of the Health Department is: 2507 Canterbury Dr, Hays, Kansas 67601 The department is located just north of the Hays Daily News.
Ellis County has about 550 current WIC participants.
The landfill accepts payment by in-state checks, cash and credit or debit cards. Payment is due at the time services are rendered.
Contact the Ellis County Clerk's Office at 785-628-9410 or 718 Main St, Hays, KS.
For more information click here.
Persons open and/or conceal carrying firearms are not allowed entry in to the courthouse and will be encouraged to secure the weapon safely before entering the building.
Cell phones are not permitted past the security check point. Lockers are provided for secure keeping while in the building. Exemptions upon approval of the court.
Yes, please follow this link to adhere to the 23rd Judicial District's dress code.
Courthouse settings and situations are stressful for children. Attendance in court hearings is left to the discretion of the presiding case judge.
Service animals that are individually trained to work or perform tasks for persons with disabilities are allowed in to the building. Service animals must be harnessed, leashed or tethered unless doing so interferes with the service animals' work or the individuals' disability prevents the use of such devices. Emotional support dogs are only admitted per prior approval of the presiding case judge discretion.
If we have the name of the individual you are looking for, we can tell you if they are in the Ellis County Jail. However, some individuals come in and refuse to fill out paperwork and their identification takes longer to verify and that increases the amount of time to process an individual through
The inmates bond is determined by the jurisdiction the individual was arrested under or being charged by. Jurisdiction being, Cities of Hays, Ellis, Victoria, or Ellis County, or another county or state. Bonds for charges vary by jurisdiction.
For a list of approved bonding companies please click here.
Inmates charged through Ellis County usually will see the judge regarding their charge and/or bond the morning of or after the arrest. Others inmates with charges through the City of Hays, will see the municipal judge on Monday morning, Tuesday afternoon, or Thursday morning. Other inmates may not be seen until the judge has reviewed the case file and requests to see them.
The inmate will get released after bond has been posted and any bond conditions are fulfilled. Some inmates may be released on their own recognizance.
An inmate being held for another jurisdiction remains in the Ellis County Jail, until the charging county or state comes to the Ellis County Jail to pick them up for transportation.
The only message delivered to inmates are messages from their attorney. All inmates have access to phone and are allowed 3 free letters every seven days.
Yes, you may bring an inmate medication. The medication may or may not be approved by the Ellis County Medical provider.
You can deposit money on an inmates account by going to www.jailatm.com and then follow to prompts to Ellis County, Kansas. There is also a kiosk in the entry way lobby of the Ellis County Courthouse and the Ellis County Sheriff's Department.
No, we can not tell you how much money is on an inmates account, as those accounts are subject to the same banking laws that govern the banking system.
No, you may not bring food or clothing to an inmate. The only time an inmate is allowed to have street clothing brought to the jail is when an inmate is appearing in a jury trial. Only one change of clothing is allowed in per day and no neck ties are allowed.
No, the jail will not tell you if you have any warrants.
Visitation for inmates is Tuesday through Friday from 9 AM till 7 PM. The visitation day is determined by the what pod the inmate is living in. Special visitation time my be approved by the jail lieutenant if the inmates family is visiting from out of state and their is advance notice of the requested visitation. You can set up a visit with an inmate by going to www.mticonnex.us and follow the prompts.
Only 3 people are allowed to visit an inmate at one time.
Speak clearly and remain calm - Dispatchers must be able to understand what you are saying.
Be ready to give information such as your name, callback number, incident location, and type of incident.
Unless the dispatcher tells you to hang-up, stay on the telephone line.
When not to use 9-1-1
Noise complaintsBarking dogs Complaint follow-ups Burning permits Routine medical transports Finding a towed vehicle Asking directions (call your destination and ask them) Inquiring about school openings and closings Reporting a blocked driveway, obstructed hydrant, etc. Asking about snow emergencies or parking bans Reporting a major noise complaint Asking about traffic tickets Seeking information from a police or fire officer Asking about a late school bus Checking the weather Reporting rust in the water or dirty water Reporting garbage problems Reporting street lights out No heat problem Needing domestic violence help Reporting problems with a building's structure, etc. Public health problem Other non-emergency calls
Civil process is the handling and serving of legal and court documents such as:
Civil documents are served on behalf of individuals, private attorneys, the Court, county departments and agencies. These documents can be served by private process servers, however many people choose to use the Sheriff's Office.
The relationship between a landlord and his/her tenant is one of a personal & civil nature. As such, the Sheriff's Office cannot intervene or decide these disputes. If the parties involved cannot reach an agreement, they will have to take their case to court. They may do this by contacting an attorney, or in some cases, they may file a case with the Clerk of the District Court. For additional information concerning the landlord/tenant relationships, please visit Kansas Legal Services - Kansas Tenant Handbook and Guide.
The Sheriff's Office occasionally gets requests for a deputy to accompany someone to a residence to retrieve or recover personal property. We will generally try to assist people at the time they call or come in, if the property exchange or retrieval can be handled peacefully within 30 minutes or less. The sole purpose of a deputy's presence is to KEEP THE PEACE. Any property over which ownership is in dispute should be handled in the courts. The deputy may conclude the Civil Standby at any time for any reason he deems necessary.
The Ellis County Sheriff's Office can provide information deemed public by the Kansas Open Records Act. However, the Sheriff's Office is prohibited by law from running a criminal history background for you by utilizing the National Crime Information Center. Residents can obtain a more thorough, statewide background check by visiting the Kansas Criminal History Record Check website.
Missing/Runaway Juveniles: The parent or guardian of any juvenile (under 18 years of age) may file a missing person-runaway juvenile report at any time. These reports will be immediately entered into the NCIC law enforcement database, which would serve to alert any officer from any jurisdiction having contact with the juvenile that he or she is listed as missing or a runaway. Deputies will also follow-up on any leads provided by the parent or guardian as to the possible location of the juvenile.
Missing Adults: Any person eighteen (18) years of age or older is considered to be an adult with full liberty to move about as they choose, with the exception of persons 18 years of age or older who remain under the legal guardianship of another adult or protective services. Deputies will take reports of missing adults at any time. The extent of any follow-up will depend upon the circumstances of the disappearance. For example, if evidence indicates that the missing person was endangered or may have been forcibly abducted, deputies would immediately begin following up on leads. If the missing person simply has not been seen recently, but no evidence of foul play was found to exist, then our options and responsibilities in those cases may be limited under the law. See the link for the The National Center for Missing & Exploited Children for additional information.
The Sheriff's Office frequently receives requests to perform welfare checks. These generally occur when people are unable to reach a family member or close friend and are concerned about the health & welfare of that person. A deputy will be dispatched to the address to see if contact can be made. If contact is made, the deputy will conduct a brief informal investigation to determine the physical and/or mental health and well-being of the person, without violating his or her privacy rights. Another type of request is from a parent to check on minor children in the permanent or temporary custody of the other parent. The Sheriff's Office will do a welfare check provided the parent making the request can provide specific reasons based on facts that the welfare of the minor children is in jeopardy.
The Ellis County Sheriff's Office will fingerprint persons upon request as part of pre-employment criminal history background checks. Residents should come to the Sheriff's Office Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. to have this process complete.
Property Boundary Disputes: Occasionally, the Sheriff's office is asked to intervene and settle real estate disputes concerning property line boundaries. These are private, civil matters between the parties involved. A Judge must settle them in court if the parties cannot agree among themselves. We cannot examine property deeds or survey documents or landmarks to determine or settle property boundary disputes. We will take a written report if asked for informational purposes only, but that must be the extent of our involvement in these issues. Of course, if a court issued orders requiring the Sheriff's Office to perform some act or function relating to a property dispute, we would follow the order of the court.
Citations issued by Ellis County Sheriff’s Deputies may be paid, unless required to appear in court, by contacting the Ellis County District Court Clerk's Office. The Court Clerk’s Office is located on the 2nd story of the Ellis County Courthouse, which is located at 107 W. 12th St. Hays, Kansas. They can be reached Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. or by calling (785) 628-9415.
You may also choose to pay your fine online by visiting the www.CitePayUSA.com website and choosing "Ellis County District Court Court" from the drop-down menu.You may make an online payment after your citation information is entered into the system. This typically can take up to five (5) days from the date you received the citation.The online payment method is only available to those who are not required to appear in court.
Only in cases of an EMERGENCY, such as a small child being locked inside a vehicle, can the Sheriff's Office send someone to assist with gaining entry to your personal vehicle. Our deputies do not carry any unlocking tools in their patrol cars, and potential liability for property damage will not allow us to unlock personal vehicles.In non-emergency cases, you would need to call a professional locksmith to assist in gaining entry into your vehicle.
In order to renew your tags, you need to bring current proof of insurance for each vehicle and your renewal notice from the State of Kansas. If you have lost or never received your renewal notice, you can reprint it here:
Unfortunately, our office is unable to give estimates on registering a newly purchased vehicle. You are welcome to bring your paperwork into our office and we can figure the cost for you. You can also use the Motor Tax Estimator to calculate property taxes on your vehicle here:
There are several ways you can pay your taxes. The easiest way is to pay online by going to either of these two websites, but be advised, that once the tax deadline has passed, you will not be able to pay online.
You can also drop off your tax payment in our drop box that is conveniently located in the alley behind our building. There is also a drop box in the lobby waiting area in front of our office.
You are also able to mail in your tax payments, we just ask that you please include the stub from your tax statements so it is easier for us to find in the system. If you would like a receipt, please check the box on the stub as well.
Lastly, you can come by our office during business hours to pay your taxes.
As long as it is before your renewal deadline, you can renew your tags online through the KS Webtags system. Please be advised that all of the following must be true for you to be able to renew your tags online:
If you meet all these requirements, please visit the website below to renew your tags online:
Since all titles are different, it is hard to say exactly what paperwork will be needed. Please feel free to bring in all your paperwork and we can advise you if there is any further paperwork needed.
We do accept debit/credit cards in our office. However, there is a 2.5% fee that is added to the total of the transaction. We also accept cash, checks, money orders, and cashier’s checks.
First half due date: December 20 (Send stub on left with payment)
Second half due date: May 10 (Send stub on right with payment)
*** If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the taxes are due the next business day. Payments must be received on or before the due date to avoid penalty. ***
-Real Estate: First half tax becomes delinquent if not paid by December 20. Interest accrues until tax is paid. If the total tax remains unpaid for three years the property being taxed becomes subject to a tax foreclosure sale by the County. The property then can be sold at public auction. Property owners of the property being sold at auction may not bid at the auctions.
-Personal Property: First half tax must be paid by December 20 or the tax becomes due in FULL. Interest accrues on the full amount if the first half is not paid by December 20. Any unpaid personal property taxes are sent to the Sheriff in January of the following year for collection. When using the payment in half option, if the second half payment is not received by May 10th of the following year, the second half uncollected personal property taxes are sent to the Sheriff within one month after the second half deadline of May 10th.Personal property includes: boats, campers, trailers, non-highway vehicles, oil, mobile homes, jet skis, 16/20M trucks and etc.
For your convenience, our office has two drop boxes. The first is in the alley on the South side of our building. The second is located in the lobby waiting area of our office. Both are checked daily.
The Kansas Highway Patrol is the agency that performs VIN inspections in Kansas. Visit their website for information on locations and hours: